January 4, 2014 … the curious case of the dog in the night*

Oh how it blew.

But I was having a lazy day and decided to have a siesta before going out. I should have known better. When I awoke there was just the murmur of a breeze and the gale had diminished significantly. Of course, I had to go out anyway. As I often do, I checked in at Hikoikoi in the hope of seeing a heron.

Something was wrong. Yes, it was raining and there was still a stiff breeze, but not that. I looked at the sea wall and saw nothing unusual apart from driftwood and rubbish amongst the rocks. What was it? My inner detective kicked in, and I remembered Conan Doyle’s “Silver Blaze”

A conspicuous absence

What’s missing?

“Gregory: Is there any other point to which you would wish to draw my attention?”
Holmes: “To the curious incident of the dog in the night-time.”
Gregory: “The dog did nothing in the night-time.”
Holmes: “That was the curious incident.”*

The fact that I could see the rocks of the sea wall was the unusual thing. The Maree K had gone.  She had at last been salvaged from where she had wrecked in the storm back in June and was now sitting battered but not lost in a cradle on a slipway further round the inlet.

Matiu/Somes Island

I sat in the car to take this and the rain was coming down fairly solidly

Along the Petone foreshore, at the Western end I got a glimpse of Matiu/Somes island through the swirling rain.

Black-backed gulls

It’s amazing how a creature with no lips can look so disgruntled

Black-backed gulls were sitting on the grass behind the beach, seeking what little shelter there was from the weather. They did not look happy.

Oriental Bay architecture

A mixture of wood, brick and concrete

My last shot of the day was in the city at Oriental bay. Still in pursuit of textures, the contrasts among the houses on the Western end of Oriental Bay under St Gerard’s Monastery were the best I could do in the rough conditions of the day.

That’s all for now, and the weather continues its roller coaster ride.

*Conan-Doyle, Silver Blaze

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

