January 2, 2014 … never mind the quality, feel the width*

It all started on the road between Bulls and Whanganui.

There, more than anywhere else, I have been aware of the attraction of contrasting colours and textures. Readers who have been with me since the days of the original WYSIWYG News and its purple prose may recall that my late parents were living in Whanganui. After visiting them or Mary’s parents in Waverly,  I wrote often of that undulating stretch of road and the visual pleasure it gave me. A ploughed field of dark earth, a soft green billiard table surface of newly sprouted grass, a golden expanse of hay ready to harvest, or the mottled texture of burnt over maize stubble, each gives visual counterpoint to the adjacent texture.

Corrugations

I assume that some industrial machinery is accessible through those doors … it didn’t seem to be a regular entrance for students

Yesterday got busy. We went to the airport to say goodbye to our daughter Catherine, and our son-in-law Mark, flying back to their home in Melbourne. In the afternoon, Mary and I went to the movies (Philomena, Judi Dench, recommended). Then it was dinner time, and I was turned loose to seek an image or two. Coming back from the movies, I had spotted a wall, the texture and patterns of which intrigued me, so I went back to the grounds of Weltec (once the Petone Polytech). It must have look odd to passers-by, a photographer in a large empty carpark with  a tripod-mounted camera pointed at an apparently blank wall.

Colour contrasts

I wonder who selects the colours for many of the industrial buildings and what is going though their minds at the time

The idea wouldn’t go away, so I went looking for more. My expectation was that  the industrial precinct around Gracefield would yield the greatest opportunities for visual contrast. I am not sure that I have achieved what I went for but it’s a start.

Grain silos at a flour mill

It was New Year’s day and nothing was moving inside the grounds of the mill.

A row of silos constructed of corrugated steel, contrasting paint (as long as there is some underlying texture), all seemed like opportunities.

A big word for a pretty effect

Matiu/Somes Island

Just to add nature back into the day’s output, here is a view from Gracefield towards Matiu/Somes Island and the city beyond. It’s an ordinary view to which the late sun adds interest by providing “crepuscular” rays. It’s a weird word describing apparently radiating rays … it derives from the latin word crepusculum which means twilight. Apparently dawn and twilight are when the phenomenon most often occurs.

I would love to hear your thoughts on the textures.

* There was a Thames Television sitcom of this name back in the late sixties.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, creativity, harbour, Landscapes, Light, Seaview. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to January 2, 2014 … never mind the quality, feel the width*

  1. Ellen says:

    I liked all the patterns and textures. The second one made my eyes go funny, trying to work out if it was level, or not. It kept changing. I gave up. Crepuscular; I went on a wiki walk to look it up. Found all sorts of things. Including this.

    “Anticrepuscular rays are not rare but they must be sought carefully. When ordinary crepuscular rays are visible, turn around and search for their opposite numbers.”

    So, now I wonder. Did you turn around? Because, you usually do. Happy New Year.

    • Ellen, I am mortified. As you observe, I usually do turn round, but failed to do so on this occasion. I was unaware of the possibility of anticrepuscular rays. The problem with the second shot (at least the one that is visible to me) is that I did not get square on to the door, so levelling it throws something else out of whack. Thanks for the ongoing support.

  2. Pamela says:

    Love the lines, the colours and the light! It
    s a bit grey and wet here thats probably why I love the sun in NZ makes everything look so happy! Happy New Year to you and Mary, may it be happy and healthy for your both. Definitely coming at the end of the year for longer than before as I will be retired and carefree so I hope we can finally meet for a coffee! Look forward to reading the prose and catching the birds this year.

Leave a Reply

