January 1, 2014 … forced draft

Happy New Year to all.

And so the ride continues. A Facebook friend wondered what to do as a photographic project this year, but “not photo-a-day, I’ve done that.”  For me it’s different. I have been taking a photo a day since January 1, 2011, and am likely to continue with no foreseeable end in view.

Grasses whipping in the wind

The wind is the price for the view

Great views are all very well, but they come at a cost. If you can see the horizon, the horizon can see you, and if the horizon is where the wind is coming from, you can expect a draft. Thus it was atop the Northern point of the park. It’s an area to which I go when I am looking for skylarks. Yesterday I saw yellowhammers, but mainly I saw grass rippling under the relentless thrust of a strong Nor’Wester.

Round the headland

Mana Island is behind that rock on the right. The South Island is clearly visible beyond it

Down below the standpoint of the previous shot, there is a track that runs beside the sea. At the end of the track, a footpath takes you through a narrow gap that looks down into a pretty bay beyond. From there, if the weather is clear, you can see Mana Island and beyond it, Arapawa Island at the entrance to the Marlborough Sounds.

From the high point

Mana Island and Arapawa Island

On my way out of the park, I noticed a hill that has always been there. Somehow, in my previous visits I never thought to climb it. Yesterday, I did. The wind was buffeting strongly as I trudged up, but strangely was still at the summit. There is a good clear view from there to Mana, and across the Strait.

Titahi Bay

It’s a popular bay in the summer

Looking down from the same place you can see into Titahi Bay, which is home to a well known surf lifesaving club. The boatsheds around the curve of the bay have been the subject of many photographs.

That’s the last of my 2013 images. See you tomorrow.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Cook Strait, Landscapes, Maritime, Whitireia Park. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January 1, 2014 … forced draft

  1. Lydia says:

    **I have been taking a photo a day since January 1, 2011, and am likely to continue with no foreseeable end in view.**
    I am sooooo glad. Thank you for years past and years to come of photos to cheer the days.

    Lydia
    Nova Scotia, but my heart is in Timaru

  2. Mark Hopes says:

    Happy New Year.
    Awesome photos and Titahi Bay is one of the best.
    Thanks for Sharing wonderful images

Leave a Reply

