December 31, 2013 … right to the end of the year

My last post of the year.

Canada geese gathering

A high density geese jamboree

I shall probably continue next year too, though I may try to reduce the number of images per post and to increase the amount of “seeing” per picture. Anyway, yesterday started out surprisingly well, and I checked the usual haunts. Nothing but Canada geese though I swear the density is increasing daily. They must be having a jamboree.

Across the pauatahanui Inlet from Silverwood

The promontory on the far side is Motukaraka point where I usually look for kingfishers

On the way back home I noticed a side road I had not previously explored and found myself on a hilltop in a suburb called Silverwood which I had never previously known. This is a seemingly affluent and very new area, still growing within the boundaries of the Porirua City. Big houses, nice cars, and probably large mortgages. The view down over the Pauatahanui inlet is nice.

Voyager of the Seas

It’s a massive ship

In the afternoon, with the weather still holding I went into the city, and spotted the cruise liner, Voyager of the Seas at the Aotea Quay terminal. I parked at the ferry terminal and no sooner did I step from the car than the rain came down. Luckily I had the storm jacket for the camera, though nothing for myself. From the water level she is huge.

Voyager of the Seas

This little boat can push that great big one around

Driving round to Oriental Bay with windscreen wipers slapping, I passed a bunch of bedraggled tourists trudging back to their ship, having been caught out as I was by our fickle climate.  From Oriental Bay I looked back towards the big ship and spotted one of the new Damen ASD  tugs which had just assisted the Aratere into a tight berth. These astonishing vessels are little more than a platform that keeps the engines float so that the engines can supply 28 tonnes of thrust in any direction. This sturdy little water tractor just pushes the sea aside.

That’s all for this year. See you in 2014

Happy New Year.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in harbour, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to December 31, 2013 … right to the end of the year

  1. John Titchener says:

    And a very happy New Year to you and yours, Brian. Your daily posts are a highlight of my day!
    Best wishes, John Titchener

  2. So pleased you are continuing .:-)

  3. Guenther Cloesen says:

    Happy new year and please go on with your daily blog.

Leave a Reply

