December 30, 2013 … so the darkness shall be the light, and the stillness dancing*

Stillness is a quality I value greatly.

When I look out of my window and see no movement in my neighbour’s tree, I become more alert. What is the light like? Where should I be to get the best images?

The fleet steaming in review order

The swans didn’t even wake up as the geese passed among them

Of course, my thoughts usually turn to water, and so I went to Pauatahanui to begin with. As I have said previously, Canada geese are around in huge numbers this year. As I arrived at Motukaraka Point, a whole fleet of them were steaming in disciplined formation though an anchored fleet of sleeping black swans. It was an impressive and stately manoeuvre.

Arriving home

This was the only thing moving

There is still a conspicuous lack of kingfishers at the inlet, so I went over to the Mana Marina at Paremata. Perfectly still conditions there were interesting, and as I was setting up for a long slow exposure, a pleasure craft came through my field of view. It was moving fairly slowly, but the 1/3 second exposure was sufficient to show its movement towards its berth. I quite like the effect, and it was a bit reminiscent of the geese passing between the swans.

Poet's corner

I can see this as inspiration for poetry

Next, the little sandy beach just inside the Pauatahanui Inlet gave a great viewing point for the colourful boatsheds on Ivey Bay, just adjacent to Paremata Road. I am not sure which one, but the New Zealand poet, Sam Hunt lived here with his much loved sheep dog, Minstrel for many years until he ran foul of bureaucrats who required him to move. I can see why he would like it there.

Peace, perfect peace

As I said, I love the calm conditions

From the same spot, but looking across the harbour to the North East, I was captivated by the utter stillness of the water.

A few ripples

The ripples came from a passing boat, and not from any wind.

Finally, from behind the boatsheds, looking North across the inlet, the boats moored within Ivey Bay didn’t move at all while I made my last image of the day.

That’s the day.

*T. S. Elliot,  from The Four Quartets:  East Coker

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Maritime, Paremata, Reflections, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to December 30, 2013 … so the darkness shall be the light, and the stillness dancing*

  1. Cliff says:

    I love those panoramas. I guess that they are several images stitched together, or are they wide angled shots trimmed top and bottom?

Leave a Reply

