December 29, 2013 … there are more than fifty shades

Greyness has its compensations, whether in the hair or the sky.

Poppy

These last but a day before being demolished by the wind

Our spell of un-summer continues, and the day was mostly grey. At least the wind has abated. My lovely granddaughter Maggie had her ninth birthday yesterday, and we popped round to visit her. She is saving madly to buy an iPad Mini … they are $450 locally … and she is almost there.  I found this poppy in her mother’s garden. As it tells you, there was still some drizzle about.

Kaitaki entering the harbour

That’s a serious looking sky

Calm water always appeals to me so I went around the Miramar peninsula and saw Kaitaki negotiating the entrance to the harbour against a dark and threatening sky. The upper and lower lights at Pencarrow are visible, and the Baring Head light can be seen on the headland above the rearmost lifeboat.

Lyall Bay

Despite the obvious lack of wind or waves, there were hopeful surfers in the water near the airport

In Lyall Bay, looking South East towards Baring Head in the distance, I used the ND filter to slow things down and quite like the effect.

Monochrome cloudscape

The Eastern sky was not all bad

To the North East, the cloud formations were very attractive and I zoomed out as far as possible and again used a slow exposure. This image is a rarity since monochrome is not my natural habitat, nor is it likely to become so.  I took it in colour and converted it to black and white using Lightroom.

That’s enough for now.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Cook Strait, flowers, Landscapes, Light, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to December 29, 2013 … there are more than fifty shades

Leave a Reply

