December 24, 2013 … wild goose grasses

In my younger days I alway loved the music that was described as “folk”.

Perhaps it was the gentleness of the genre, but I was a sucker for it, even if the cynical lens of hindsight now tells me it was like white bread, highly refined and bore only a loose resemblance to the products of the ancient crafts.  Heck, I still enjoy it, so that may explain why my first shot from yesterday brought the Weavers to mind. The Weavers were a folk group dating all the way back to 1948, and their most famous member was Pete Seeger.

wild geese in the grass

I love these grasses

But the song that triggered all this nostalgia was a gentle ballad called “Wild Goose Grasses” or “In Tarry Town”. If you would like to hear it, click here. When first I got to these grasses, there was just grass. But then it seemed to sprout a  crop of wild geese all honking their alarm to wake their slumbering relatives and warn them of the intruder.

retreat

This must have been the grand council of water fowl of the inlet

Beside the grass there was a narrow creek and as I crept over to it, an amazing variety of waterfowl began a hasty withdrawal. It was a little like the Dunkirk evacuation fleet … vessels of all shapes and sizes withdrawing from enemy territory.

House sparrow

More exotic visitors were hoped for

At home, I set my camera on a tripod with the wireless remote trigger, scattered birdseed in my focus zone and waited. Nothing but sparrows.

I hope you’ve all been good and are on Santa’s list.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Normandale, Pauatahanui. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to December 24, 2013 … wild goose grasses

  1. Cliff says:

    “Nothing but sparrows”!! They are amusing little birds, well worth a photograph. Look at the little chap that you got.

  2. nzvideos says:

    Thanks for The Weavers memories. I was introduced to them via my parents who would not have liked them if they had known of their political bent.
    I wish the very best to you and your family during this festive and joyful season.
    Merry Christmas

    Charles

  3. Ellen says:

    I like the pop-up birds. I once owned Tarrytown on a 45. I think it was the flipside to Island in the Sun by Harry Belefonte. Now it’s in my head for the day. Merry Christmas.

  4. Pete Seeger did get the Hudson River cleaned up. A good guy.

Leave a Reply

