December 21, 2013 … return of the sacred kingfisher

Time to get back into practice.

Kingfisher (1)

There are hundreds of crab per square metre so it should.t have to look too hard

The sacred kingfishers (Halcyon sancta) are on their way back. I saw just one yesterday, but a friend who put more effort into it than I did, sat under her camouflage net for two hours, and saw three at one time. My admiration goes also to her husband who sat patiently in the car reading his kindle throughout. Anyway, the one kingfisher I saw was fairly skittish and moved to a distant perch each time I attempted to sidle closer.

Kingfisher (2)

They redefine “fast food”

As a result, these images are small crops from the bigger picture, with the inevitable concessions to digital noise.

Kingfisher (3)

It has seen more food

Despite my reservations, the bird was feeding frequently, so I was offered several opportunities to catch it in action.

Kingfisher (4)

They always seem to take the crab back to a perch, and often stun it into submission by whacking it on the wood

Today is turbulent with the wind gusting around 30 km/h … no likelihood of birds today.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Pauatahanui. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to December 21, 2013 … return of the sacred kingfisher

  1. nzvideos says:

    “As a result, these images are small crops from the bigger picture, with the inevitable concessions to digital noise.”

    Actually, I am impressed by how well they appear. In the days of non-digital film cameras, you would have consistantly won prizes and financially benefited from shots as good as these. Just because it is a bit easier to obtain good bird shots today, does not take away from the patient care it still takes to get them. I enjoyed them all.

  2. So pleased you are now back in your “happy place” as they say. Good shots in spite of your tough critique.

  3. Toya says:

    Yep Brian’s in his ‘happy place’ and I can post my images without feeling guilty again 🙂 Nice set!

Leave a Reply

