December 20, 2013 … from afternoon to moonrise

That’s a bit better.

Your opinion may differ, of course, but since my primary photographic purpose is to make images that I like, I shall stand by my opinion.

Californian thistle

Near the mouth of the Wainuiomata stream on the South coast

Beginning down the Wainuiomata coast road at the beach, the wave action was uninspiring. Dispirited I was heading back and spotted the bright colour of a Californian thistle.  Possibilities.

Once a picturesque old barn, now a pile of rubble

Did it fall, or was it pushed? The Reid and Gray crate is visible under some other rubbish just to the right of centre

Nearer to Wainuiomata, the sad remains of a favourite old shed continue to subside into the earth. Intriguing to me, was the large wooden crate, upside down in the middle of the debris field. In stylised script of an earlier age, before anyone knew what a logo was,  it bears the brand of Reid and Gray. It took a little digging, but Reid and Gray operated a foundry and made agricultural implements, first in Oamaru, and later in Dunedin.  I wonder what came in that crate, and when.

From Maungaraki to the city

The night was dark except for the glare of the city since the moon had not yet appeared

After a committee meeting in the evening, I was driving home from Upper Hutt when I realised that the night was dead still, so I chose to drive up through Maungaraki and look back towards the inner harbour. Heavy cloud over the city was catching the city lights.

The moon, and perhaps Jupiter

There is just enough light to see the silhouette of the Tararua Range

Over the ridge and down into Normandale, and there was the moon low in the sky and a star, or more likely the planet Jupiter.

Somewhere out there ...

It was a beautiful moon

Moon shoots have not usually come off well for me but I think this one is pretty sharp.

I am happier than I was yesterday.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in harbour, Landscapes, Moon, South Coast, Wainuiomata, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to December 20, 2013 … from afternoon to moonrise

  1. John Titchener says:

    Didn’t Reid and Gray make wool presses, WAAAAY back when? It looks about the right shape and size…

  2. John Titchener says:

    Bingo! On TradeMe:
    Reid & Gray Wool Press
    No reserve
    Closed: Fri 30 Mar 2012, 5:39 pm
    Listing #: 460378992
    Reid & Gray Wool Press, machanically sound, in good working order, borer free, complete press

  3. Nice moon shot! The full moon felt different this time around…. Could be it because it’s close to the winter solstice?

  4. Toya says:

    Love the moon shot. When you were out at the coast did you see the banded dotterels? and the pipets?

Leave a Reply

