December 19, 2013 … bah humbug!

Expletive deleted.

It was a rotten day photographically speaking. I know that I live in a beautiful city, and that there are many great photographs to be had. Yesterday I drove around a fair bit of it, and saw nothing. Of course I didn’t actually hit anything, so my eyes were open, but it was a day of seeing without really seeing. Those days happen far to often, and I resent them when they do.

Evans Bay, Wellington

The clouds were what I wanted here

In Shelly Bay, looking across Evans’ Bay towards the city I thought there was something in the cloudscape. There might have been, but I didn’t think I caught it. Part of my problem was I tried to get too clever, and applied my neutral density filter in the hope of getting that silky surface on an otherwise uninteresting and choppy sea. I should have remembered that any time I point that thing in the direction of the sun it produces flares for Africa. I achieved so few images yesterday that I had to attempt to retrieve the least affected of them.

Waterloo Rd, Lower Hutt

Suburban architecture of no special merit

In the evening, on the way home from a committee meeting, knowing the desperately poor state of the day’s bag, I added one more shot on Waterloo Rd, Lower Hutt.

And that’s all I have to say about that.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, harbour, Light. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to December 19, 2013 … bah humbug!

  1. Toya says:

    When you are driving around Shelly Bay to Scorching Bay you should keep an eye out along the edge of the coast. I have seen several kingfishers there in the past, just haven’t had time to photograph them 🙂

Leave a Reply

