December 15, 2013 … signs of the season

A friend asked for help running a photographic slide show at a carol service.

Voyager of the Seas

After leaving the port, bound for Sydney, she seemed to go up the East coast which was surprising.

As a generality, if someone wants me to do photography or to lend my somewhat limited technical expertise, I am happy to oblige. Weeding the garden tends to come with a bit more pain and suffering. Since the technical connection between computer and projector is an unknown quantity, I set out early. Unfortunately the hall at Eastbourne was still locked when I arrived. No problem, I had my camera with me so went down to the beach opposite the Eastbourne bus barns. I arrived just as the Cruise Liner Voyager of the Seas was about to disappear behind Pencarrow after dropping off the harbour pilot.

Kite Surfer in Day's Bay

Seconds later he did a U-turn and then crashed.

As usual, I did the “check behind” and saw a kite-surfer racing up and down. Based on the number of times he dumped off in relatively benign conditions and the total lack of any attempts at flying, I am guessing that he was at an early stage in his kite-surfing career. This image caught him at the Northern end of his run near the little spit at the end of Day’s Bay. If you magnify the image, there is a family enjoying a picnic on the beach. In the background, the petroleum/chemical tanker with the unromantic and somewhat mystifying name Overseas Ariadmar is unloading at Point Howard terminal. Our house is just out of shot halfway up the hill to the right.

The littlest angels

The audience was equipped with ribbons to wave in synchronization with the tiny carol singers on the stage.

By now it was time to see if the hall was yet open. It was. The projector didn’t have the HDMI connection that works with my Macbook Pro, so we used Mary’s PC and a good old-fashioned VGA cable and we were up and running. But Mary doesn’t have Lightroom so there was a bit of fumbling to install Picasa as a quick and dirty solution. We got there.

 

Eastbourne is has a real village style to it. People turn out in their numbers to an ecumenical carol service. My friend Phil had put together a set of photographs illustrating the Christmas story or reflecting Christmas themes using images of local people and places. That many people all smiling at once has to be a force for good in the world.

At the end of the service

Santa is against the back wall and the kids are following under the spell of the season

The children sang, performed and at the end Santa arrived and led them all out into the school playground for a lolly scramble (lolly = candy (US) =sweetie (UK)).

Here endeth the carols.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Children, Eastbourne, Maritime, Music, Seasons, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

