December 14, 2013 … lots of energy, modest results

Marking time.

Walking on the spot, lifting your legs up and down, but not going forward. That has been my sense of the last few days. As far as I know, only the military (and perhaps those treading grapes and also display marching teams) had a genuine use for it. It certainly adds little to my photography.

South along the harbour's edge to Wellington

The traffic was crawling Northward. but doing better in the other direction

My first shot from yesterday was taken from the Horokiwi road, just downhill and round the first corner from the quarry entrance. In the South the city was still as grey as it has been for the last few days. Traffic winding its weary way along SH2 towards the Hutt Valley somehow conveys the weariness of the drivers who have had enough of this year and are just eager for the Christmas break to begin.

A very soft afternoon in the valley

A light drizzle on the hills is interesting

Looking in the other direction, low cloud shrouds the Eastern hills of the Hutt Valley. If you look carefully just above those trees on the right hand side of the road, you can see the cluster of “gypsy” caravans gathering for one of their periodic visits to Petone Beach where they will no doubt sell all manner of arts and crafts over the weekend.

Reflecting on the Maree K

Six months after she was wrecked in the storm, the Maree K is still wedged on the breakwater

Coming back to sea level I checked to see what was happening at Hikoikoi. The short answer was, not much. Almost six months after the storm, the poor old Maree K is still wedged firmly on the breakwater.  This is reprehensible, in my opinion, and the owner should remove it or be sent the bill for its demolition.

That’s all for today

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in harbour, Horokiwi, Lower Hutt, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to December 14, 2013 … lots of energy, modest results

  1. John Beveridge Ottawa Ont. Canada says:

    I love your various shots around the Valley and Wellington. It reminds me of growing up in the area and seeing what has changed in the last 55 years that I have been living in Canada.
    Some places I hardly recognize and am hard pressed to guess where they are but that also is what change is all about. Keep up the good work . I left NZ in Jan 1959

Leave a Reply

