December 12, 2013 … on the high ground

University graduation ceremonies are becoming less relevant to me than they once were.

I attended this one because a PhD was being awarded to someone for whom I was the primary supervisor for two years. In addition there were a number of people getting Master’s degrees whom I had admitted to the programme when I was its director and whom I had taught and encouraged.

And in a particularly poignant case, a posthumous master’s degree was awarded to the late Noel Derry. Noel was not a young man, but the heart attack that carried him off six months ago was totally unexpected. As well as being an excellent student he was a wonderful human being. Several of us had persuaded him to enrol in a doctoral programme and he had indicated his intention to do so, but died suddenly. It was a bitter-sweet pleasure to see his wife Patsy receive his diploma on his behalf yesterday. Overall, it was a mixture of pride and sadness.

Looking down on the city I love

The view from Northland to the city and harbour

My (former) school hosted the graduands at morning tea which I attended. I had lunch with a former colleague. The graduation ceremony was to be at six so I  snoozed for a while in my car. Then I went looking for images. In a city as hilly as Wellington, the high places are always a temptation for me, so I went up to Northland (the suburb) an  looked down on the city.

Looking South

Nothing that way but the South Pole

To the South, the sea was blue, and a scattering of clouds added interest to the sky. A steady Northerly breeze kept the toetoe flowers in motion.

Tui in the flax

A seasonal hazard

On this particular park and lookout there were copious quantities of flax and at this time of year, that means tuis are everywhere. So I had to include at least one.

Chaotic colours and textures

Incongruous juxtapositions

However, a shot by my good friend Adam during the week, drew attention to the somewhat chaotic juxtaposition of textures and colours in the architecture of the city. It occurred to me that the high vantage point and a long lens offered a different perspective on the same phenomenon

More chaos

I had morning tea on the 4th floor of Rutherford house (the white building)

There are many view windows down on to the city and now two have the same look and feel.

The band rotunda in Oriental Bay

I can’t remember a band ever playing there in my time in Wellington but it is probably the oldest structure in the picture.

As I was packing up to attend the ceremonies, a helicopter swooped in over Oriental Bay lining up to land on Queen’s Wharf.  It was positioned nicely over the artificial beach.

That’s all for today.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Academic, Architecture, Birds, flowers, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to December 12, 2013 … on the high ground

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    I like the urban chaos photos 😀 Also, I had the privilege of sharing a couple of classes with Noel and was saddened by his passing. I’m happy he was awarded his degree posthumously though.

  2. I had just found this blog today, and also finally confirmed my suspicion that Noel has passed on. I had known him for around 12 years while I worked with him at MoJ, I was on the recruitment side and Noel worked for the business, he was a lovely man, kind, caring and all in all a beautiful human being, he will be sadly missed.

Leave a Reply

