December 9, 2013 … from last days to an early bloomer

With camera club administrivia behind me until the end of January, I set out to take pictures.

Beach front cottage in Petone

It seems to be in an advanced state of decay as do the vans

I normally aim for the end of the day, so I should not complain about the narrow window of opportunity. On the other hand I could have done without the wind. On the Esplanade at Petone, a little house caught my eye. Sited between a house on one side that has been extensively renovated and on the other by one that has been demolished and replaced by a huge concrete edifice, this little house is slowly decaying in the midst of gentrification. Even the two vans in the driveway seem to be quietly sinking into the earth.  Since it is directly across the road from the beach the land value will be quite high. The house itself may be of sentimental value to someone but otherwise is unlikely to be worth much. 

Upper Hutt Train

One of the old Ganz-Mavag sets comes into Waterloo from Wellington on its way to Upper Hutt. And look, there is a pohutukawa in bloom on the left

 

From there I went up through Moera and then across White’s Line and onto Cambridge Terrace and along to Waterloo Station. I decided to see if any trains were due but even before I could see the signboards, a train came in from each direction. 

Wind-blown pohutukawa

Though the wind was throwing the blooms about it was humming with bees

I have formed a theory which is backed up by nothing more than recurring observation that Pohutukawas near electric railway systems bloom earlier and longer than their relatives in more natural locations. I mentioned that there was a wind and the blossoms were thrashing about, but they were in full mature bloom very early in December. 

I feel the need for some bird images coming over me. 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, flowers, Lower Hutt, Petone, Railway. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

