December 6, 2013 … the perfect end to a very ordinary day

Restored to normality after an attack of some mystery ailment yesterday, I can resume the blog on schedule today.

Emerging fern fronds

I am not sure how much excitement I can stand

Normality is often dull. Yesterday seemed as if it would carry dull to an extreme, and the most exciting image of the day was, for a long time,  a new fern frond. I should add that this was taken on returning home after a prolonged expedition looking for more exciting subject matter.

After dinner, I was sitting quietly when our younger daughter Helen and her husband Vasely turned up for a passing visit. It’s always a joy be with any of our children, but just two of them are in the Wellington region, and it’s a long journey to Melbourne, Brisbane or even Queenstown. Anyway we had a good chat and as they were leaving, I realised that the light on the hills was spectacular.

Sunset in the harbour mouth

The last half hour of daylight made up for everything else. The view from the top of Maungaraki to the harbour mouth is spectacular in any weather, but this was something else … the ship to the upper right of Matiu/Somes Island is the interisland ferry Kaitaki on its way to Picton

I said hasty goodbyes, grabbed my camera and ran, but the light was already off the Eastern hills. Looking behind me, I saw that the sky was still alight in the west, so I raced up to the water tower at the top of Maungaraki. I wasn’t alone. About a dozen people were out on the street photographing a truly magnificent evening, including my old friend Johanna who I hadn’t seen in almost 15 years. What a delight to catch up.

The inner harbour as seen from Maungaraki

The pimple atop Hawkins Hill is the airport radar. It was a lovely moment.

Despite the alleged prophetic qualities of the red sky, the forecast for today and tomorrow is rubbish which may bring me back to where I started … normality.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, flowers, harbour, Lower Hutt, Sunset, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to December 6, 2013 … the perfect end to a very ordinary day

  1. Toya says:

    The last image is pure magic. Well done!

  2. Phil says:

    Brian Great photo from the top of the hill – the view from above gives a great perspective of the colourful splendour of the evening – especially as the colour of the harbour provides a very good contrast. We sure live in a wonderful country.

  3. Pamela says:

    Absolute beauty, Wellington is not always windy! Well done and I loved the wharf at night from the day before, I do miss NZ when I see these sorts of photos. If you want cold, frost and snow you are more than welcome, some wonderful photos to be taken in the winter here!! Keep up the good work.

  4. Deborah Faessler says:

    Stunning photographs! I am hoping to return to the land of my birth one day soon!

  5. rosamnz says:

    Beautiful. Love the colours.

  6. It may have changed a little if you have been away for a while but it is as beautiful as ever

Leave a Reply

