December 5, 2013 … posting ad nauseam

This post is a day late.

On the other hand, the photographs from the day concerned were deeply disappointing anyway. I was ready to post yesterday but succumbed to a passing bout of feeling unwell, hence the unsubtle heading. Back to normal now, and it is time to catch up. Photographically, I kept the faith, but only by virtue of taking some night shots after the conclusion of my first camera club committee meeting in the chair.

Day's Bay Wharf

At night, in the rain

It was dark, as nights tend to be, no visible moon, and there was steady fine drizzle. My first stop was at Day’s Bay wharf (the meeting had been in Eastbourne). The drizzle was soft but intense so no lights from across the harbour, and even the lights on the Day’s bay wharf are muted.

From there, it was a cautious drive around the bays, trying to see possible shots, and at the same time not to miss any of the sharp corners on the dark slippery road and thereby end up in the sea.

Nothing much revealed itself by the time I reached Seaview, but the water was very still. Perhaps the marina might yield something new.

Seaview marina

I am a poor sailor so my fascination with the sea is a bit odd

I chose a different viewpoint than previously, but the drizzle floated onto my lens, and I got some interesting flare.

Seaview Marina (2)

Though I have done them before, I love still nights at the marina

I hope for a better set from Thursday’s shooting.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Day's Bay, Light, Maritime, night, Seaview, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

