December 3, 2013 … as fair as these green foreign hills may be …*

My own bed is calling me, but first I have yesterday’s images from Queenstown to deal with.

Lake Wakatipu

Looking across Kelvin Heights towards Kingston

With Billie at school, and Otis at his pre-school, Mary and I were able to go into town and enjoy lunch with Abbey and Andrew who had been so generous throughout the weekend. Coming in from their home in Lake Hayes Estate, we ducked away from the busy traffic on Frankton Road and climbed up over the hill to descend into the township by a quieter route. This gave the advantage of height. Apologies for the “chocolate-box” image looking out over Kelvin Heights down the Kingston Arm of lake Wakatipu, but clichéd or not, I never tire of this magnificent landscape of ours.

Looking up Mall Street from the waterfront

Summer is here at last

As the owners of a busy restaurant in town Andrew and Abbey had a few things to do before lunch, so I wandered the streets attempting to see Queenstown. It is currently a “shoulder season” where the snow has definitely gone, and the summer peak has yet to arrive. Nevertheless the streets, bars, restaurants and adventure venues were all in full swing.

New adventure tourism feature

Submersible ride

Speaking of adventure venues, the latest hot attraction is a small boat which takes its passenger for a dolphin-like ride, diving up to a metre below the surface. It has a snorkel that remains above the water to allow the engine to keep running. It looks interesting, but I am not sure I have the courage to try it.

The town basin

Clouds over the Remarkables

In due course we enjoyed a truly excellent lunch at a new place called “The Public Kitchen and Bar”. The day was absolutely perfect as we ate on the wharf near the steamer Earnslaw. Some clouds appealed to me so here we have a multi-image panorama from the edge of the wharf looking from the old lady of the lake herself around the town basin to the rugged wall of the Remarkables in the distance.

Poppies

I like the contrast with the blue of the lake

Having noticed a beautiful crop of poppies on the way in, I asked if we might pass them again on the way back so that I could capture their joyful colour.

Australasian Crested Grebe

Dripping wet from a dive

My photographic day ended with a quick solo trip to Lake Hayes where I was rewarded by a glimpse of the Australasian Crested Grebe.

And so to bed.

* ” … they are not the hills of home” from Scottish Soldier by Andy Stewart

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, flowers, Food, Lakes, Landscapes, Queenstown. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to December 3, 2013 … as fair as these green foreign hills may be …*

  1. Toya says:

    Gorgeous poppies!

  2. Really like the poppies. I survived one of those submarine things that went quite deep in the Great Barrier Reef. Enjoyed it so much I went down 3 times.

Leave a Reply

