December 2, 2013 … somewhere new

Central Otago is pure magic.

Russel Lupins

They are everywhere in the lower half of the South Island at this time of year

On the other hand, it can be torture from a photographic point of view. If you are going somewhere in a car with the family, it would be just unreasonable o ask them to stop every time I saw something I wanted to photograph. I did that just once yesterday as I wanted a representative shot to celebrate the lupin season. A quiet back road out of Arrowtown was the location of this very typical roadside cluster of Russel Lupins. They are classified officially as an aggressive weed by the Department of Conservation.We drove through the stunningly beautiful Kawarau Gorge with my twitching shutter finger under strict control and arrived at the home temporarily rented by my daughter-in-law’s brother and his family on the shores of Lake Dunstan in Cromwell.

Powerboat racing

The noise was amazing

As we came into the town we had noticed some lakeside activity. In the house, the activity revealed itself as the thunder of mighty engines.

Hydroplane at speed

Not fuel efficient but apparently a lot of fun for the participants who need deep pockets

 

The Lake Dunstan Powerboat club regatta was under way with racing hydroplanes dragging enormous “rooster tails” around the lake. Otis (three) didn’t like it at all … the noise was overwhelming.

Products for sale at the market

All kinds of interesting flavours

While the racing was spectacular, the weekly market in Cromwell’s “old town” was doing great trade. Otis happily went with the ladies away from the noise.

Billie

Gazing into the distance

Billie on the other hand was happy to watch the boats careering around the course.

It was an enjoyable day.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Children, flowers, Lakes, Landscapes, Maritime, Queenstown. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to December 2, 2013 … somewhere new

  1. The boat photos are quite spectacular.

  2. digitalgranny says:

    Great shots and Billie is a very lovely young lady. Lupin is a pretty weed. Did you ever notice that some of the pretties flowers are weeds.

Leave a Reply

