November 29, 2013 … a slow ride across town

Yesterday, I was asked to photograph a function for Hospice New Zealand.

Tui in the flax

This one was so engrossed in the food that it ignored me

As I was walking out of the front door, I encountered this fine fellow feeding on the nectar in the flax flowers. The tui and flax go together at this time of year, and as in yesterday’s image, the forehead coating of pollen tells of successful feeding.

Rush hour traffic in the city

The traffic was stopped when I took the photo

Then I hit the road bound for Tapu Te Ranga Marae in Island Bay. In normal circumstances, and empty roads, it would take a little over 30 minutes to make the journey. On a wet Thursday night at rush hour it took over an hour. On several occasions, the entire system came to a standstill, and since my camera was on the front seat beside me, I grabbed a shot or two.

In The Terrace tunnel

This is not a pleasant place to be stopped

The closer I got to the city, the worse the congestion came and this shot was taken while parked in The Terrace tunnel.

Tapu Te Ranga Marae

Highly unconventional but welcoming to all.

I arrived a few minutes before the appointed hour, and thought I had lost the opportunity  so scope out the site of the required group photograph. On the other hand, the whole gathering was running late so it all worked out in the end. I won’t breach the privacy of the meeting, but I can show you the extraordinary building that is Tapu Te Ranga Marae. Though it is Maori through and through, the external structure puts me more in mind of the Swiss Family Robinson than the Maori. Nevertheless, it was a welcoming place and a tribute to its founder Bruce Stewart and the visionaries who helped him build this amazing wooden structure on eleven levels. .

Tomorrow from Queenstown.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Architecture, Birds, Island Bay, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

