November 27, 2013 … random disconnected images

It was a messy day.

In the morning I had some administrative stuff to do on my last day as secretary of the Hutt Camera Club. While I was dealing with that, my clever new screen calibration device reminded me it had been two weeks since I had checked for colour accuracy on my monitors.

Screen calibration in process

It’s a clever device and now my two monitors show the same colours. Here, it’s just about to start on my external (Dell Ultrasharp) monitor

It’s a simple device that looks a bit like a mouse that gets hung in a designated area on the screen being calibrated. The associated software then sends out a whole gamut of colours and the device measures what it receives. The software compares what it sent with what came back and then generates a new screen profile for each attached monitor so that the colours displayed are as they were seen by the camera. I am much happier with my colours now.

Flax in motion

Slow speed hand-held shot

My camera was sent outside to play. With its raincoat on and on the tripod with the remote trigger attached, It was set up to capture any tuis that visited the flax plants outside the door, Damp weather and a howling wind produced the above, or did they?

Flax still

High shutter speed and a tripod produce different outcomes  on the same plant … all that is missing is the tui.

They didn’t. I lied. There was no wind and the first flax image was taken hand-held, with the shutter still on the half-second exposure from the train shots the day before.What I showed was camera-shake, not a storm. The reality was almost still conditions. Though the flax is in full bloom, no tuis came, so all I got when I checked that it was working, was the empty flax bush.

Keas and Cubs

Feeding time at the den … Cooper has a finger full of tomato sauce and is pretending to bleed. His sister, Maggie, gets on with the food

In the evening, my youngest son Anthony was to be inducted as a scout leader so I looked in. If anything the chaos was more pronounced than the previous visit and I couldn’t stay for the induction ceremony. Annual General Meetings of clubs and societies rarely attract a full house, so we combine ours with the annual judging of the portfolio competition. In two grades (beginner and advanced) , members submit a set of six images that hang together, and they are judged as a set rather than as single images.  The AGM usually takes fifteen minutes and last night was no exception even with a minor increase in subscriptions which was unanimously approved. A new president was elected (me), and then the portfolio judging began.

Judging the portfolios at Camera club

Outgoing president Paul introduces the judge for the evening, Bruce. Some of the sets submitted can be seen.

Last evening’s judge was the chair of the Photographic Society of New Zealand’s judging panel so we got a very competent and at the same time supportive critique of the sets, and two outstanding sets were chosen. I was unsuccessful, but pleased for my friend and fellow blogger Toya, whose six kingfisher images came together to produce a superb set.

Maybe next year, but the competition is hotting up.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Art, Camera club, Children, creativity, Lower Hutt. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to November 27, 2013 … random disconnected images

  1. Cliff says:

    Was the “wind blown” flax a serendipitous accident, Brian? Because I like it. I also like the rain drenched one too, even though it is “sans tui’.

  2. Ellen says:

    It looks like a scrunched up mohair blanket but when you look hard, there seems to be a bird in there. Intrigueing.(sp?)

Leave a Reply

