November 17, 2013 … making lemonade

Wind can drive you mad.

Hare's tail grasses at Petone

I must remember to try these at sunset on a still evening … they seem to generate a wonderful halo when lit from behind

Or you can decide to make use of it. Yesterday was blustery and somewhat unpleasant, so I decided to follow the old advice about what to do when life gives you lemons.  I recalled that along the Petone foreshore, there are some clusters of the invasive weed “hare’s tail” (Lagurus ovatus). Though it is a pest, it is highly decorative, especially when lit from behind, or blowing in the wind.

More hare's tail

The blustery wind moved them in random ways

I tried it from a couple of angles, using my neutral density filter to allow me to capture movement during a slow exposure. There are other decorative grasses that I must experiment with.

Oystercatcher

Seashore philosopher

When I had a good number of grass shots, I did the usual precautionary look around to see if I was missing things in other directions. This Oystercatcher sheltering in a hollow on the beach looked to be in deep contemplation. It always amazes me how something with no lips is able to have so many facial expressions. More accurately, it is amazing how many ways we humans can interpret the same expression to suit our preconceptions.

Seaview Marina

The water was more rippled than this appears to show … but it was a sullen sky and a strong wind and worth a try

At the Seaview Marina, with my neutral density filter, I put the camera on the tripod to see if I could still the rippled waters with another slow exposure. This was partially successful, but I discovered (again) that prolonged exposures produce lens flares so I had to do some tidying up in the computer.

That’s all for today

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, Maritime, Petone, Seaview. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to November 17, 2013 … making lemonade

  1. nzphotog says:

    I really like the moody marina shot.

    Toya

  2. You are good at the moody marina thing

Leave a Reply

