November 16, 2013 … taking the broad view

If all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.

Aro Street

These are amongst the oldest houses in Wellington

The cliché is no less true for photographers. I mounted my wide-angle lens yesterday and went roaming in the lower end of the Aro Valley. The wide -angle was used all afternoon.  The Aro Valley is quaint, sometimes a bit run down, but is slowly becoming “gentrified”. Whether or not the wide-angle view does it justice is for you to say.

Epuni St

The newcomer is not too out of place

In nearby Epuni Street, a modern, somewhat quirky new building is completely different to all of its aged neighbours, yet somehow, is not out of place.

Easterfield building, Victoria University of Wellington

My old office is concealed by that awning

Next, I went up the absurd winding road that is Devon Street. This narrow goat track not only allows two-way traffic, but also permits parking. Despite signs warning that it is unsuitable for long vehicles, the occasional bus driver decides to give it a try, only to end up jammed in the steepest tightest corner. I have seen a crane called in to lift a stranded bus round the curve.  At the top of the hill I found myself in familiar territory, at the Kelburn campus of Victoria University of Wellington. The Easterfield building was my workplace for about three years before our school moved downtown to the Pipitea Campus. Since then, the old Quad has been demolished to make way for the splendid new “hub”. The ground floor of the Easterfield building now contains “Vic Books”, a shiny cafe/bookshop that replaces the old bookshop in the student union building.  A Sushi shop is on the uphill side where there used to be a gate between Easterfield and the McLaurin lecture theatres.

"The Hub" Victoria University

If you went to Vic, this is where the Quad used to be … the brick building through the windows is “Old Kirk” and the library is off to the right, Easterfield to the left.

Inside, the place is eerily empty … just a few staff, and post-grad students as it is now in the post-exam period with the summer trimester about to start. Those who remember the bleak and windswept Siberian wasteland that used to be the Quad will hear their jaws drop at the luxury that is now the centre of student life on campus.

Kelburn Parade outsire the Easterfield building

Interesting cloud formation

Across the road, are the old houses which house a number of small departments and teaching spaces. For a while I had a rather grand office in the grey building visible immediately in front of the bus. The bus driver was very suspicious of my photography activities and got out own his point-and-shoot camera so that he knew who had taken his photo. I am guessing he thought I might be a company spy.

Behind the high-rise buildings on the Terrace

The pink colour in the centre is that netting they use to shroud workers on scaffolding

From there it’s all downhill, and a steep hill at that. Bolton street was always a challenge to walk up which was why I rarely did it. It offers a nice view of the back of the CBD as the motorway into the city passes behind the Terrace. I liked the clouds.

Hikoikoi reserve

The clouds again

My last stop of the day was at Hikoikoi reserve. This is a panoramic stitch of five images still with the wide angle in portrait orientation. The boatsheds are quite a little village. The one thing missing is our favourite heron, George.

It’s a bleak day today so who knows what will emerge.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Aro Valley, Kelburn, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

