November 13, 2013 … mixed weather

Exploring unfamiliar parts of the city is something I enjoy.

Looking East across the harbour froom Khandallah

Miramar and Mt Victoria on the upper right, Eastbourne on the far side

It allows me to see Wellington from different angles, and to some extent, with new eyes. Yesterday I went through the East facing slopes of Khandallah, in the area that is often referred to as “the dress circle”.  This area is characterised by large houses which are very close to the necessarily narrow roads that wind up and down hills and round some very tight corners. These roads have their origins in the days of horse-drawn transport and you really could not take a large bus or truck along them.

Every so often they offer a view window where the houses are placed such that you can see over or between the neighbouring structures. Yesterday there was a very solid Southerly in play and the result was a deep green harbour decorated with white caps. The clouds were getting along at a good clip, and this image (which is a panoramic stitch) had to be made quickly so that the cloudscape was not too different between each of the six images.

Inner harbour

The ferry terminal is in the centre

A little further round the hill to the South, where Karori begins to turn into Ngaio or Wadestown, there was a nice South-facing view over the inner harbour. The interisland ferry, Arahura (nearest the camera) is backed into her berth, and her crippled sister, the Aratere which recently had the misfortune of having a propeller shaft break, is tied up on Aotea Quay.

Royal spoonbills

The feed or they sleep

Back in the valley, I dropped in at Hikoikoi reserve and found a cluster of royal spoonbills grazing.

Oystercatchers

Washing their plumage

Around the edge of the inlet a bunch of oystercatchers had gathered for communal ablutions.

That’s it for the day.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Cook Strait, harbour, Khandallah, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

