November 9, 2013 …. through the time of mists or vice versa

Fog is the most common reason for the closure of Wellington airport.

Fog is that stuff that obscures visibility when there is little or no wind to move it on. Yesterday was a foggy day, to begin with. It caused massive disruption at the airport all morning and much of the afternoon.

Cruise liner and container ship

Tourism and industry rub shoulders

On my way to lunch with a friend, I paused at the Interisland ferry terminal and took a shot of the conditions on the harbour. At Aotea Quay, the cruise liner, Dawn Princess was berthed ahead of a container ship, and in the background, where Mt Victoria is usually seen, nothing but fog.

Across the harbour

No sign of Eastbourne

Looking across the harbour, Point Jerningham and Point Halswell make a nice ink-wash image, but the Eastern hills are obscured.

Albatross

Yet another fountain shot

Since I was early for lunch, I stopped on Jervois Quay and walked past the famous Albatross sculpture by Tanya Ashken. There can be few photographers in Wellington who have not tried a dozen ways to make an original image of it in full flow. I am not immune to its graceful curves, so here is my latest attempt.

The masts and rigging of Lord Nelson

Her hull is mercifully obscured

Along the waterfront on the outer berth at Queens Wharf, two of the lesser “tall ships” that had recently crossed the Tasman were in port. There was the Lord Nelson, from England, and Young Endeavour from Australia. The Lord Nelson has two square-rigged masts and a lovely maze of rigging. I could see crew on various of its yards, working on the sails,

Sailmakers aloft

Sewing heavy sailcloth

Up close, she is a regrettably ugly ship, in my opinion. If you could see nothing but her masts and spars she is a thing of great beauty. Her hull makes me think it was designed by a welder. To be fair, she meets some special needs by making much of the ship accessible to people with disabilities. Anyhow, from alongside her on the wharf, I got a closer look at these crew members effecting repairs to the sails. Unlike any of the original Lord Nelson’s crew, these men and women were all wearing safety harnesses and they had sturdy carabiners clipped onto safety lines along the yards.

That’s all for today, which was truly magical, but that’s tomorrow’s story.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Art, harbour, Maritime. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to November 9, 2013 …. through the time of mists or vice versa

  1. nzphotog says:

    I have never photographed that fountain! I must get in there and have a go one day soon 🙂
    Nice set!

Leave a Reply

