November 6, 2013 … cruising with a heavy lifter

My fondness for ships and the sea has been discussed before.

Though the weather was fine yesterday, I didn’t have any great plans when I set out. Heading towards the city I noticed the presence of a cruise liner, the Sun Princess (77, 441 GT, 1,950 passengers). Since the advent of global paranoia it is no longer possible for the ordinary citizens to get anywhere near ships. In my school days, the shipping lines would grant a visitor pass to anyone who asked. What better advertising could they have than letting people see what they were missing?

Sun Princess in Wellington

The cruising season is just getting under way (this is the fourth since winter). The Hikitia is the dark grey shape ahead of the Sun Princess.

So I went up the hill to Wilton, and from the twists and turns of Barnard Street, looked down on the port. The ship itself is handsome enough, of its type. I took a straight picture, and noticed the presence of the floating crane Hikitea moored just ahead of the liner. Hikitea is capable of lifting up to 80 Tonnes and in 1926 sailed under her own steam, with the jib up, from Glasgow to Wellington. Her delivery voyage lasted 82 days.

Zooming in on the Sun Princess

I quite like the effect

I decided to experiment with the images of the bigger ship, and began zooming during exposure. Using my very solid tripod for stability, and to stay focused on a specific point on the ship, I made some slow exposures.

Beam me up, Scotty

Perhaps this is how the Bermuda triangle works?

Seeking a more dramatic effect, I put the neutral density filter on the camera and with the shutter speed slowed down to almost half a second could get a more extreme range of zoom during the exposure.

And that’s really all I did yesterday

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Art, harbour, Machinery, Maritime. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

