November 5, 2013 … making do with what’s available

Out in the inlet, none of the usual suspects were around.

Pigeons in formation lower left

The heart of the mortgage belt

Now that I think of it, I haven’t seen a kingfisher in weeks. On the other hand a tight flock of birds was wheeling and swooping like starlings over the inlet against the background of Whitby. It took a while to work out what they were.

Common pigeons in formation

“Rats with wings” … in Brisbane they use that label on the Ibis

Once they got closer it became apparent that they were common pigeons (or, as some would have it, rats with wings). I had not previously noticed flocking behaviour from them.

The Waiwhetu Stream

You have to work hard to avoid a house or car in the background on this stretch of the stream

Later in the day I was on the Eastern side of the valley on Riverside Drive. There are some pretty spots beside the Waiwhetu stream so I took the opportunity.

Duckling

Not as sharp as I would like due to hand-held slow speed shot, but I liked the water texture

And who can resist ducklings?

That’s it, I am back up to date.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Fairfield, Pauatahanui. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to November 5, 2013 … making do with what’s available

  1. Nary a bird at the Grays Rd spot today and very little yesterday. I was hoping to spot a godwit.
    That stream image is so serene.

  2. Adam Rosner says:

    Like the picture of Whitby… That front part facing the inlet is called “Mortgage Hill”
    We live inland a bit, much more sensible prices and just a quick walk from the inlet (-:

Leave a Reply

