November 2, 2013 … there goes the neighbourhood

You’ll have to forgive me, but I am excited.

Happily, I have my feet back on the ground, though still somewhat cautiously. So with freedom partially restored, I jumped in the car and went to Pauatahanui. There were some strangers on the South basin by the Forest and Bird hide. A pair of bar-tailed godwits were browsing in the mud of the shallow pond.

Pied stilt chases godwits

The godwits’ behaviour seemed more irritated than afraid

They were being harassed by the pied stilts who clearly were not pleased by the newly arrived competition.

Bar-tailed godwit

They are a pretty bird in flight

After some squawking, the stilt would advance like a movie vampire, and the stilts would flutter off to another part of the pond. There, another stilt would take up the harassment.

Each time they settled, another stilt would take up the harassment

Across the pond

I have to admire the godwits for their resilience in the face of such aggression. On the other hand, they are of a similar size to the stilts, so I was intrigued that they were intimidated by them.

The pied stilt

It’s hard to take such a delicate bird seriously as a bully

As far as I can tell there is just a  single pair of godwits, and they might normally be expected at Foxton and perhaps Waikanae. I had not seem them at Pauatahanui before, though they are listed as occasional visitors on the various information boards at the inlet.

Another relocation

The godwits seemed resigned to being moved on

What a relief to be able to get out again.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Pauatahanui. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

