October 31, 2013 … in domestic captivity

For reasons already discussed I stayed at home yesterday.

That left me in desperate straits as I sought material for my daily photographic commitment. Perhaps the hedge outside the window might yield something if a suitable bait could be found.  After some hobbling about, I found a plastic dish that I wired into the hedge, then filled  them with birdseed.

Sparrows in the hedge

They’ll go wherever there is free food

Sadly, the persistent wind kept anything of interest away. and after many remotely triggered exposures, just three frames contained a bird. And all I had to show for it was a little group of house sparrows.

The landscapers next door

The broken fence was already there

Over the fence to the South, my neighbour’s landscapers were still at work almost five months after they started, and the sound of a truck arriving to deliver some topsoil offered some hope.  Photos were taken, but frankly none of them were “pictures”.

Begonias

Zooming in

My last effort was an attempt at some creative zooming with some bedding begonias in a pot.

Ho hum, perhaps tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, flowers, Normandale, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

