October 30, 2013 … hobbled and handicapped

Crippled and in considerable discomfort, I could not really get out and about yesterday, nor indeed today.

The blisters from the unaccustomed walking over the previous two days have forced me to walk on the balls of my feet, unable to put my heels to the ground. From the outside, it probably looks very funny. Needless to say, I am not enjoying it.  However, my youngest son, “Ants” picked me up yesterday afternoon to accompany him and the kids to a scouting exercise on road safety.

His son Cooper is a member of the most junior branch of scouting, known in New Zealand as “Keas”, presumably after the mountain parrot. His daughter Maggie is in the next tier up, as a cub.  Before we set out for the exercise, we paused at their house while the kids had their dinner.

The inner harbour from the lower slopes of Maungaraki

A tanker and a log carrier wait for berths

 

While I was waiting, I took photographs from their verandahs which offer magnificent views over the harbour and the lower valley.

Petone from Maungaraki

Slowly the traditional bungalows and villas of Petone are being replaced by apartment blocks

 

One of the amazing features of living on the hill is how different the views are as you move a few hundred metres one way or the other.

Ava Station

One of the new Korean commuter units bound for Wellington pulls into Ava

 

Down at Avalon Park, there is a set of tracks laid out and painted like street intersections, complete with traffic signs, for precisely the purpose of instilling road rules.

Cooper is having a great time

Eyes shut and emitting siren noises Cooper is having fun

All the little Keas were soon whizzing about on their bikes, scooters or inline skates, giving way at the intersections in accordance with the signs. 

First responder at the scene of the "accident"

Cooper is doing a racing dismount as he rushes to the aid of the victim

Then the Scout leaders staged an accident and did the great melodrama about what to do next. Cooper was first on the scene, and he leapt from his bike, raced around the “victim” and began to administer CPR to the great hilarity of the other scout leader.

CPR in progress

I am not sure what diagnostic processes were followed but Cooper immediately began CPR, though the effect may have been more like the Heimlich manoeuvre

Cooper’s dad, as well as being a police officer, is a trained paramedic. The leaf is not far from the tree. 

Art work

Windmills at Avalon

The exercise lasted about an hour, so I shuffled carefully along the path to the windmills which are installed as an art work at the edge of the park.

That’s it for a somewhat handicapped day. 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Avalon, Children, Lower Hutt, Petone. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to October 30, 2013 … hobbled and handicapped

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    Ouch. Sympathies. I did that to myself when I was in Taipei a few weeks ago. Spent the day sightseeing in the city on foot – it was raining and the inside of my shoes got very wet and somehow my feet got blistered, which annoyed me as I needed to spend all week on my feet delivering workshops and training. Waterproof shoes were back in the suitcase in the hotel. Yeah. Lesson learned

  2. Ellen says:

    i gots de sore feet blues (o, boy, dey hurt a lot)
    dem ole sore feet blues (dey’s all wore out and shot)
    got dem sore foot blues (what am i gonna do)
    to get rid of dem ole……
    sore feet blues
    – auth?
    Nevertheless, it looked like a good fun day.

Leave a Reply

