October 27, 2013 … expect little, avoid disappointment

With the wind gusting in excess of 100 km/h I expected interesting surf on the South coast.

It has seen better days

I am not sure whether this house has always been here or has been moved on site

Alas, all I found was flattened waves, though there was sign of watery disturbances too far offshore to be useful. Coming back up the Coast road towards Wainuiomata, I noticed a derelict house I had previously overlooked. This shot was taken through the open window of my car as a way of avoiding the unpleasantness outside.

Seaview industrial area

From the top of the Wainuiomata hill in a shrieking gale

From the top of the Wainuiomata hill there was nothing special to see, but I have done the best I could with the industrial area at the foot of the hill.

In the marina at Seaview, I expected some shelter, and to an extent it was there. However, all the masts were rocking in accordance with the formula that governs any pendulum. I hoped to capture the movement with a slow exposure, but even at 1/3 second, the pendulum rates of the boats was so slow that the best I managed was some mild blurring of the taller masts.

Seaview marina

If you look really closely you will see the blur at the mast tips

I expect better things tomorrow

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Cook Strait, Maritime, Seaview, South Coast, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

