October 24, 2013 … a day out of the box

The cruise liner got lucky.

It came and went on the one fine day in this week’s forecast.  I was on my way to have lunch in town with a good friend and former colleague. I had to drop an emergency lunch pack at Normandale School for my grandson, Cooper, who had lost his lunch (later found in the refrigerator at home). This brought me onto Dowse Drive in Maungaraki, from where the harbour was calm and clear.

Across Wellington Harbour towards Eastbourne from Maungaraki

The clouds came and went but the harbour was calm

Having arrived in the city ahead of schedule, I wandered the streets with my camera, and was thus mistakenly identified on two occasions as a passenger from the Sun Princess. In Lambton Quay, I happened to glance skywards and saw a spectacular cloudscape. I am told by an authoritative meteorological source, that these are altocumulus clouds. The patterns had dissipated with about 20 minutes.

Altocumulus clouds to the North of Lambton Quay

I worked in Pastoral House for many years … the one with the white concrete ribs and bluish glass panels at the end of the street

Down at ground level, the denizens of the many buildings nearby were out in the all-too-brief sunshine, enjoying their lunch on the grass of Midland Park.

Lunch in the park

You have to be quick to get a seat

On the corner of the park there is a statue of Katherine Mansfield. Perhaps it was the element of compulsion that caused my dislike, but for one reason or another I was never fond of Mansfield’s writing. And having read some of the biographies, I was not an admirer of her as a person. I am willing to concede that better qualified people than I regard her as something of a literary giant in the short story genre. Coming back to Virginia King’s statue, it seems to bear a very vague resemblance to Mansefield herself, but I see it as more of a symbolic tribute than a realistic representation.

Victoria King's statue of Katherine Mansfield

I took a lot of shots and this is just one perspective

Modern sculpture occurs in many forms, and this elegant hollow stainless steel statue with its laser-cut words is a piece of engineering genius, and perhaps even artistic genius.

And now the weather is back.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, Landscapes, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October 24, 2013 … a day out of the box

  1. CitraGran Cibubur says:

    Reblogged this on CitraGran Cibubur.

Leave a Reply

