October 23, 2013 … wandering in the wet

Apologies. I wrote this on time, saved it in draft and then forgot to post it, so it’s a day late. The photos were taken on schedule, though. 

In wet weather, I went looking for images yesterday.

My wandering took me to Silverstream over Blue Mountains Rd to Whitemans’ Valley. Soft grey drizzle isn’t a total loss, and the wind had abated.

There are thousands of old and decaying buildings on farms around New Zealand. My guess is that it would cost more to remove them than any benefit gained. On the other hand, there must be many acres of otherwise useful land cluttered by the remains of old buildings. But how much less interesting would our landscape be, devoid of these charming references to our past? 

At the end of its days

This old farm shed serves no useful purpose any more

This old shed has finally succumbed to the ravages of time.  I have no idea if it fell or was pushed. As I was tidying the image up, I was tempted to remove that white blob in front of the shed. The closer I look, the more I think it is some kind of domestic rabbit – a large white rabbit with erect black ears.

Looking down on the prison

A regrettable necessity

Coming back over the hill I paused to look up the valley. Down below the Rimutaka Prison occupies a regrettably large part of the landscape, while the large green expanse in the mid ground is the Trentham racecourse.

Pretty Pinehaven

This little valley is isolated from the main transport corridors

Further down Blue Mountains Road, there was a view-window in the pines that looks out over the suburb of Pinehaven. It’s pretty to look at, but too much shade in winter, and too much fire-risk in summer for my taste.

Homebound commuters

It’s a long haul from Wellington to Masterton, but less stressful than driving over the hill

 

Following the road behind the defence area at Trentham, I came onto Ward Street at Wallaceville, just as the evening train to Masterton was approaching. The glint of its headlights on the damp rails caught my eye.

That’s the day.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Light, Masterton, Railway, Trentham, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to October 23, 2013 … wandering in the wet

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    I love the picture of the train (or more accurately, the front of the locomotive) under the grey drizzly skies. Very moody and atmospheric. Question for you though: When you set out on an expedition to take photos, do you have a particular image in mind? Or do you just go where the will takes you and look around until you see something?

Leave a Reply

