October 21, 2013 … stands the church clock at ten to three?*

A travel photographer’s advice I just read was “practise at home”.

Yesterday was a back-to-earth day after returning from our trip to Rotorua, Whakatane, National Park, Horopito and Foxton Beach. With no strange and exotic places to visit I wandered around my own region. I conclude that wind, unless it is of spectacular force, is generally unhelpful for photography.

The town clock in the Naenae shopping centre

Sadly the non-functioning clock is just one of the problems for Naenae …. empty shops don’t inspire confidence

At Naenae, there was a sheltered place and a patch of sunshine on the clock tower which, like Rupert Brooke’s famous church tower, is frozen in time. Both clocks are right twice a a day.

Impression of Mana

Strong wind but some sunshine

I found nothing useful at Pauatahanui, and moved on to Plimmerton where Dotterels may sometimes be found. I was about to conclude that there was nothing useful there either, when it occurred to me to take the variable density filter out and see what I might get with that. Mana Island is out there on the horizon with the tip of Whitireia Park to the left. The jagged rocks in the foreground are where the dotterels are sometimes seen. This is a very long slow exposure to flatten the water and I had to apply strong downward pressure on the tripod to stop the camera bouncing in the wind. (Note to self … I must get a sandbag to hang off the centrepost for stability)

The Hutt River at Taita Gorge

River levels high

When you have a hammer, they say, everything looks like a nail. Having got the ND filter out I went in search of running water, and ended up on the side of the Hutt River near Stokes Valley looking North towards the gorge.

Ho hum. Perhaps today will produce a different idea.

*“The Old Vicarage, Grantchester” by Rupert Brooke

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Plimmerton. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October 21, 2013 … stands the church clock at ten to three?*

  1. jb says:

    Or Peter Sellers… “Honey’s off, dear….”

Leave a Reply

