October 18, 2013 … landscapes in transit

Oooh, owww, ahhh!

After a day on the Tongariro crossing (about which, more tomorrow), this is going to be a short post. We began in Rotorua, with a flat tyre, which the nice guys at Firestone fixed at no charge. On the road again, we headed South down to Turangi, and just a little way before Taupo, we passed Ohaaki geothermal power station. Mary was driving so I could shoot out the window as we passed at 100 km/h.

Ohaaki geothermal station

I think that’s a cooling tower

A little closer to Taupo, I rather liked the military formation of trees on the skyline.

Nearing Taupo

… he marched them up to the top of the hill, and he marched them down again

After a pause for refreshment at Turangi (which was closed), we went up over the saddle from Tokaanu to Lake Rotoaira, and stopped at the lookout on the hill to compose this multi-image panorama looking North over Lake Taupo.

Lake Taupo from the saddle road

Have a look at the enlarged version

On the other side of the hill as we approached the Rangipo turnoff, I liked the lovely carpet of golden canola with Ruapehu in the background.

Canola seed with Ruapehu behind

Lovely colour in the flowers

As for tomorrow, have I got a story for you!

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in flowers, Lake Taupo, Lakes, Landscapes, Rotorua, Waikato. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to October 18, 2013 … landscapes in transit

  1. The last image is lovely. Looking forward to the Intrepid Tale!

  2. Toya says:

    Ditto what Marg said 🙂

Leave a Reply

