October 15, 2013 … wild and woolly weather

You were warned.

Yesterday was always going to be about the weather. Wind gusts to 145 km/h were recorded and we lost power twice during the day. The second time was as I was about to put food in the oven for dinner, and it didn’t return until about 3:15 am.

During the first outage I went to the South Coast and attempted to catch the wind lifting the surface off the sea.

A howling northerly lifts the sea into the air

It was hard to stand in this wind

It was even more vigorous around the corner in Breaker Bay, and I had to watch the approach squalls so as to avoid salt spray on the lens.

The control tower on the ridge overlooking Breaker Bay is for Maritime traffic

A moment after I pressed the shutter, I had to turn my back to that racing squall

Back home in the early evening, I looked down the valley to the South and despite the lack of power in the house was glad not to be out in it.

A bleak view of the Hutt Valley looking Southward

That’s the Ewen Bridge in the foreground

Later still, as I went to bed, I stuck my camera out the window and took this shot of the same scene. Yes, the people on the valley floor had no interruption. I suspect that those of us who live on the hill get stronger gusts and more trees fall over.

IMG_8720The same scene at night

The storm rages on

Tomorrow, a change of scenery.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Seatoun, South Coast, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

