October 12, 2013 … patience rewarded

A family health event required a sudden trip to Napier.

Red sky in the morning ...

The ancient folk-lore was right on the nail … the weather got steadily worse

A red morning sky warned of heavy weather to come, and sure enough the trip up was continuously wet.  Mary visited as required and I was turned loose. For a while the rain had stopped so I set off to walk around the Ahuriri inlet. For 80% of the walk, the most exciting thing I saw was this Little Shag (Phalacrocorax melanoleucos).

Little shag

Despite keeping a wary eye on me, it was also watching for fish underwater

 

Mind, it was a handsome specimen, and stayed quite close to me when it dived, affording me a good view of its descent into the depths.

Little shag diving

going, going, gone

Then the rain came down. I stuffed my camera under my thin hoodie and trudged around the walkway. I was nearly back onto Meeanee Quay when to great joy I encountered a small flock of bar-tailed godwits (Limosa lapponica).

Bar-tailed godwits

Recent arrivals from Siberia

These astounding birds have arrived back in New Zealand in the last week or so, after their non-stop migration from Siberia. Like many other wading birds, they seem to enjoy the apparently endless supply of crabs in the estuary.  The one second from left has one in its beak.

Godwits in flight

They seem in good condition despite having flown 11,000 km in six days

Despite my staying as still as possible in the still falling rain, they decided to move further away and gave me a nice flight shot.

White heron fishing

He caught a substantial fish

To make the birding day complete, I was strolling along the walkway in the wetlands  to the South of the Clive River when I encountered this white heron in breeding plumage.  It was fishing with some success, though I wasn’t close enough to do it justice.

And that’s it for today.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Clive, Napier, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to October 12, 2013 … patience rewarded

  1. Toya says:

    It might have been raining but that is an awesome set of images! Well done!

  2. Very clear and sharp photos.

Leave a Reply

