October 8, 2013 … taking a scattergun approach

Randomness rules.

I spent a chunk of yesterday at the reception desk of the Hutt Camera Club’s annual exhibition. Did I mention that five of my own images are on display? If you are anywhere near Lower Hutt, have a look at the Hut Art Society’s Odlin Gallery on Myrtle Street from 10 am to 4 pm daily until Sunday 13th October.  (end of blatant plug). By then the day was coming towards its end.

Before I go further, I should correct an error in yesterday’s edition. I referred to the restaurant, Le Normandie. It did indeed used to be in the neighbourhood, in the old Cubacade arcade, but the restaurant I depicted was a different one, and as my correspondent reminded me, it used to be Orsini’s, another elegant and expensive establishment in its day.

Harlequin flower (Sparaxis tricolor)

Breezy day

Meanwhile, grey weather persists, and the winds are still blowing. I tried to capture the bright colours of the Sparaxis (Harlequin flowers) in wind-whipped motion outside the art gallery.

Greenfinch (Carduelis chloris)

I am not sure if seeds were the target, or perhaps the content of that web.

With domestic duties beckoning, I squeezed in a quick trip to Hikoikoi. My friend George the heron was still absent, though there have been sightings. A greenfinch perched nearby. Somehow they always look grumpy. Perhaps it’s the eyebrows.

Quartet of Little black shags (Phalacrocorax sulcirostris)

I wondered if there was a message in that bottle but it was travelling too slowly to wait for it to make landfall.

Four little black shags perched on a rock and ignored what I think is a floating wine bottle nearby.  They look as if they are ready to begin practicing for their barbershop quartet.

Torea at anchor in Wellington

The berth to which she delivers oil was occupied by a cruise liner

From the foreshore near the Petone wharf, I saw the tanker Torea parked out in the harbour. I imagine she was waiting for the berth adjacent to the port’s bunkers to become free with the departure of a cruise liner. Not till I got home did the bird make itself visible. I was tempted to Photoshop it out, but on closer inspection think it is a petrel … I just liked the juxtaposition of petrel/tanker (Yeah, I know … groan!).

Radiance of the Seas

First of the season — by my estimate the cruise lines will deliver 190,000 visitors to the city this season.

As to the cruise ship, She was Radiance of the Seas, 90,900 Gross Tonnes, 2500 passengers, and 850 crew. She is the first cruise ship in a string of 76 scheduled between now and May 14 next year.  I can hear the cash registers ringing along Lambton Quay from here.

See you later.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, flowers, harbour, Petone, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

