October 6, 2013 … participating in a global event

Yesterday was a very special day.

As I had mentioned earlier, I was privileged to lead the Wellington manifestation of the Worldwide Photo Walk. Around the world there were 1,238 groups with a combined total of 28,638 photographers walking together, meeting each other, sharing their enthusiasm. There was some small element of optional merchandising which raised funds for the “Springs of Hope” orphanage in Kenya.  Our group had 47 registered participants, and a half-dozen informal attenders.

We gathered at the upper cable car terminus in Kelburn under a grey sky with very occasional hints of dampness which disappeared as the afternoon progressed. The cable car itself broke down just before the start, so quite a few participants had to trudge up the fairly steep wooden walkway beside the tracks to get to the top. After a brief description from me on where the walk was intended to go, the group set out, and all semblance of order ceased.

The tail of the group disappearing slowly

The front-runners were probably down in the children’s playground by now. It was fascinating to watch 50+ different ways of seeing and shooting the same thing.

For the non-participants in the park a group of fifty plus photographers must have been a bit daunting, but within ten minutes, I think we were strung out over a kilometre or so, and not all of us followed the suggested path which was fine. as there were many options.

One participant was a smooth talker

This man is a pro, but whatever he said to get the pretty lady to pose worked like a charm, so I couldn’t resist the secondary shot.

 

Some were going for the broad shots, others were focussing in on the macro.

bluebells

The botanic garden is full of memories of our colonial past

 

As the leader (by which I mean organiser) I am ineligible to enter the main competition, but I was determined to have fun too. So here are a few of my shots .

Mum carrying her babies

I hope that they support her as well, when age creeps up.

There were lots of other users in the park and they were bemused but not to upset by a bunch of people with cameras spring up everywhere. The young mother heroically carrying her children was surprised but tolerant. Sadly she didn’t have the same wonderful hair as her beautiful children.

Statuary amid the flowers

The only relatively intact block of tulips was this rather insipid lot, behind the statue.

Wild flowers in the cemetery

In loving memory

In the sad remains of the tulip garden. Then we went down through the Bolton St cemetery and across Bowen Street where the government does its work

Government architecture

The Ministry of Business Innovation and Employment in the white building, the Ministry of Social Development nearby. The odd thing in the front is apparently an art work

Across to the parliamentary precinct where the lights on the main gates were interesting.

The light standards at the gates of parliament

A period piece

From there it was across to the waterfront where a small number of yachts were making good speed in the steady breeze.

Coming home

The breeze didn’t seem as strong as the lean implies

We concluded with a  warm and friendly gathering in Mac’s Brewbar, a waterfront hostelry which had reserved some tables for us.  There was much “chimping” and comparing images.

It was a great day, in my opinion.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, Botanic gardens, Camera club, flowers, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to October 6, 2013 … participating in a global event

  1. Did you take the pink hat off the statue?

    it was a most enjoyable photowalk. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

