October 5, 2013 … soft weather

It’s one of those weekends.

As the newsletter editor for my camera club, one weekend a month tends to be hectic.  In addition, I took a turn at the desk in the club’s annual exhibition (with five of my images on the wall, it seems only fair). As a result, I had a very short space of time in which to grab my daily dose of  images.

Wellington Harbour (from Port Rd, Seaview)

This panorama is a stitch of six images

Damp swirling clouds and occasional drizzle made life “interesting”.  The city was appearing and disappearing as the clouds moved about.

Petone foreshore from Port Rd

Dampness in the air

On Petone beach, everything nearby had a crisp clarity that seems to occur in conditions like these.

Petone Wharf

old familiar …

 

People were fishing at the far end of the wharf, and I just had to stroll along it. I tried some shots with the camera at ground level, but the resulting images could have been any wharf anywhere. Reject.

Along the wharf towards the Miramar Peninsula

Like George Washington’s axe this is more or less unchanged … except for the new posts and rails

On my way back, I was a little hypnotized by the sullen surge and dump motion of the little wavelets arriving on the beach. A few dog owners were out being exercised by their dogs, but apart from that and the building rush hour traffic along the Esplanade, all was quiet.

Looking westward along Petone foreshore from the wharf

I loved those slow dumps and the sucking sound as the water retreated

That’s my report for yesterday.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in harbour, Petone, Seaview. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October 5, 2013 … soft weather

Leave a Reply

