October 4, 2013 … filling in time

Lunch in the city imposes obligations.

I feel the need to make pictures while I am there so as to make the most of the opportunity,and the petrol, if I have driven, as I did yesterday. I arrived before the appointed hour, so went for  a walk around the block. Immediately across the road was a black building, now the home to the accounting software company, Xero.  Originally it was the John Chambers building. It has undergone various phases of earthquake strengthening over the years, and has recently been transformed to the specifications of Xero.

The Xero building

A classic “flat-iron” layout on a triangular section.

Around the corner, on the wharf (I didn’t say it was a big block), there is a forest of presawn timber. I am told this is an art work. Described as a “timber garden”, this is made from timber sawn from piles salvaged from the various “cut-outs” in the wharf. Cleverly, the poles can be unbolted and laid flat to be used as seating for functions in the area. Additionally, there are fittings at the top of each pole to allow for the rigging of banners or even shade cloths to suit various events held in this space.

The versatile "timber garden"

The building in the background is the “Wharewaka” or boat house which houses two large war canoes as well as a cafe and a function centre

Still too early for lunch, I popped into the pub to discuss with the functions manager the reservation of some space for the participants in Saturday’s Photowalk. While I was waiting for her, I put my lens against a window where this particular pub used to brew beer. It seems they now served beer from kegs brewed elsewhere. I found the view interesting anyway.

The plumbing in a modern bar

I am no connoisseur, as long as it is clean, cold and fizzy, I’m there.

As it turns out, my friend had arrived early too and had taken a walk around a different block. Ah well we can both do with the exercise.

In the evening, I had to take a picture of more flowers received by Mary in recognition of her momentous career milestone.

Bouquet

I must try a different background. On the other hand, black shows “nothing but flowers”

The lilies that I photographed earlier in the week have really reached their peak, and they are bursting open almost like popcorn going off in a microwave.

Lilies in full bloom

These are huge and spectacular.

Tomorrow is the photowalk, so things may be late.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, flowers, Food, harbour, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

