September 30, 2013 … family time and swinging tides

We have six grandchildren and love them all dearly.

Likewise we have five kids and five wonderful sons-  and daughter-in-laws and they are all cherished. Sadly we don’t manage to spend as much time as we would like with them. As I write, I begin to feel like Bob Cratchit at Christmas … but I remember too, the need to provide stability within our own relationship and our own family and to be appropriately independent at times. Yesterday was an interesting day for me, family-wise.

Our two local grandchildren had been with us for a sleep-over. Both were born after the death of my late father (2002), but for some reason I became aware that if my father were still with us, yesterday would have been his hundredth birthday. Oh how he would have loved these kids, just as he loved their parents.

Knitting apprenticeship

Such an old story … the handing down of craft skills

But this was our time to spend with the youngsters. Maggie wanted Gran to teach her to knit, and so it came to pass. She was producing reasonably reliable rows with few dropped stitches in very short order.

A dweller in a far-away land

Fantasy is OK, up to a point

Cooper was more interested in his own world and he lay on the bedroom floor, surrounded by toys, and partial skeleton of his “bone monster” (described in yesterday’s blog. He was colouring in a book of “superheroes” and was happy in his isolation.

The work boat, "J.Vee" swings at her moorings

A sandwiched shot

Later in the day, after the children had been reclaimed by their rightful guardians, I went out to experiment a little using some of the techniques espoused by the photographic impressionist community. So the first little work boat, “J.Vee” is moored in the sheltered bay at Hikoikoi.

Red boat

It may have moved at some stage, but this yacht is rarely away from its anchorage

My next interpretation is of a red yacht which is anchored in Lowry Bay.

See you tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Art, Children, harbour. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September 30, 2013 … family time and swinging tides

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    The impressionism is an interesting change of direction – I like the red boat. You’ve blurred out the mundane distractions and left us with the essence of the image. I think it works.

Leave a Reply

