September 25, 2013 … “turn your face to the moonlight”*

There are just two images in my folder for yesterday.

I don’t apologise for that. They took more time to create tha twenty ordinary images. I also acknowledge that there is Photoshoppery at work here, and I most definitely do  NOT  than the traditional “straight out of the camera” shots. Photography means painting with light. Nothing more, nothing less. Where I assemble the sources of light from is entirely at my discretion. So there! (End of rant).

Both images were made in pursuit of the “once upon a time” theme in my camera club.  The requirement was for an image staged so as to illustrate a well known story.

"Memory" from "Cats"

I am pleased with the fence

I had the cat ornament which was used in the “Owl and the Pussycat” yesterday, so this image illustrates the song “Memory”  from Andrew Lloyd Webber’s “Cats” or, if you prefer, T.S. Elliot’s “Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats” on which the later musical was based.  A fence was constructed with the aid of some strips of balsa wood and some super glue. I “borrowed” a “Cats” poster from the Internet and reduced it in size to be posters on the fence. I shot the cat in a darkened room on the fence against a black background. I used an iPad app as a light source,  choosing 4000 degrees K as the nearest approximation to the colour temperature of moonlight.  I then superimposed a shot of a moonrise I had taken across the valley earlier in the year.

High altitude beanstalk

Keep climbing, Jack

Jack and the Beanstalk was the next image. Yes, that is a genuine live bean plant. The figures were from a competition last year. If you were reading back then, they were standing in or beside a dish of treacle. The background was shot from a flight we took last year from San Francisco to Denver. It took forever to mask the upper image to see through the gaps in the foliage. The little guys were not very good at staying where I put them either.

Now we are in another seasonal storm so who knows what, if anything I will get for tomorrow.

* from “Memory” by Andrew Lloyd Webber

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Art, creativity. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to September 25, 2013 … “turn your face to the moonlight”*

  1. As I said last night I really like the first image.

  2. Ellen says:

    The cat, the moon and the fence.
    Clever and beautiful and stylish.

  3. John Titchener says:

    … or, “When the moon is a ghostly galleon, toss’d upon cloudy seas…”

  4. nzvideos says:

    I am more than impressed with both of them. Although I have many years of photo experience, I would not be able to do either of these. I also especially enjoy the cat and moon one. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

