September 23, 2013 … deepest suburbia

Some of yesterday’s work will remain “under wraps”.

I want to use it for competition purposes and would rather not expose it to the public view for now.

Having enjoyed taking pictures of Wellington City, I decided that I would see what Upper Hutt had to offer. Rarely do I have cause to visit our Northern neighbor. Like Lower Hutt, it is predominantly a dormitory city for people who work in Wellington. I mean no offence to people from Upper Hutt when I say that there are thousands of cities like it around the world. It exists because everybody has to be somewhere.

Upper Hutt's main shopping street

A classic strip layout from last century

The river valley and its imposing hills give it some character, but at street level, I fear it is rather bland. Shaped by the shopping strip mentality of last century’s town planners, it suffers from a long narrow main street with too many empty shop fronts.

Plenty of planting to beautify an otherwise plain area

Apart from the plants it is a very ordinary shopping centre

Nevertheless there is a certain sense of community pride about Upper Hutt. Unlike Lower Hutt, they have yet to pull the plug on the civic gardens, and there is a significant body of public art around the place.

One of several pieces of public art nearby

Welded steel, natural rust finish

One sculpture that I enjoyed is a large stylised tui sitting on a ring. It is situated in a bed of tulips on a traffic island at the Northern end of the shopping precinct.  I wanted to get the tulips into the picture as well as the art work, so I lay down on my side on the narrow ledge around the traffic island and took my shot.

A clever tui in the tulips

This sculpture is about three metres tall

Perhaps it’s the smaller population, or perhaps the citizens of Upper Hutt are more inured to eccentrics, but no one came to see if I needed a defibrillator.

See you tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, flowers, Upper Hutt. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to September 23, 2013 … deepest suburbia

  1. I like the sculpture photo.

  2. Toya says:

    Tis supposed to be a kereru, not a tui 🙂 Great shots of the sculptures.

  3. Cliff says:

    Tui? As Toya says, it looks more like a pigeon!

Leave a Reply

