September 20, 2013 … following the path

Wailing and gnashing of teeth in the outer darkness!

Some kind of block, the photographers’ equivalent to writers’ block, is impeding progress at present. I will not blame it on the weather, even though it is drab at present. Nor will I blame it on other time demands. Instead I confess to a bout of laziness. There is no forward planning. And when I get somewhere, it seems a bit of a hassle to haul out the tripod and connect the remote trigger, so I am producing bland results. This must stop. However, I learned yesterday that those of us who started our photo a day journey back on January 1, 2011 are now approaching day number 1,000. Those of us who are still in, or even mostly still in, plan to celebrate this milestone over dinner next week.

The discipline of making at least one conscious deliberate image every day has been too valuable to slacken off now. So, even when I am a bit embarrassed by the images taken, I shall keep going in the hope of breaking through this wall in front of me.

At the local hospice (Te Omanga), the perceived seismic risk of the old art therapy cottage resulted in its demolition, and the construction of a bright new cottage which contains all of the therapy team, including my own dearly beloved. Yesterday they put on morning tea for their friends and volunteers to celebrate, and I was there. Outside the cottage a team of men were installing a new paved pathway from the main building to the cottage. With their permission, I captured the work in progress. It was no mean feat getting the camera out there without disturbing the bed of sand for the pavers.

Laying pavers towards the cherry tree

Always good to see craftsmen at work

Down at Hikoikoi, there was no birdlife of any great interest, and in desperation here is yet another shot of the transom of the Maree K. No more unless something dramatic happens!

Maree K again

The residual value of the boat must be diminishing with each tide

My final shot of the day was  a rehearsal for an idea that I had for a club competition. I am not sure I shall press ahead with it, but that’s where I got to. My grandson, Cooper, will be pleased to see his toys having fun in the sandbox.

Sandbox warfare

A one-sided battle

Not sure if tomorrow will be better but there will be a breakthrough.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Hutt River, Lower Hutt. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September 20, 2013 … following the path

  1. yet another angle of Maree K. And the hospice brings back many happy memories of when it was the Cenacle.

Leave a Reply

