September 17, 2013 … a passing phase

We all know comparisons are odious, don’t we.

Yet, after sitting down at the inlet with a fellow photographer, I began to be assailed by what industrial psychologists refer to as “debilitating self-doubt”. My friend posted some of his kingfisher shots on Facebook, and I was definitely depressed. However, you have to work with what you have, so on with the job.

Duck with apprentice ducks

Apparently the heron is a serious threat to the ducklings, each of which would be just one mouthful.

My friend had told me where the white heron is often found, these days, so I went there, but found nothing but a duck with a flock of little fluffy things.

Australian Magpie

That’s a powerful looking beak

Trudging up the hill I encountered a Magpie which seemed unafraid. I am not sure why the magpie seems to be out of favour for bird photographers. It is a handsome bird, if somewhat aggressive in the nesting season.

Royal spoonbill

It’s a while since I had been to Hikoikoi so I want there in the late afternoon and encountered a pair of juvenile Royal Spoonbills. They are similar is size and colouring to the white heron in most respects except the bill, but for some reason they lack the glamour of the heron.

Another Spoonbill

“The day thou gavest, Lord, is ended”

And coming back to the start, don’t take this for self-pity. Nor is it false modesty. I know that at the right moment I can pull off some shots I am proud to display anywhere, but I would just like to achieve a much higher percentage of those.

See you tomorrow.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, Hutt River, Porirua. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September 17, 2013 … a passing phase

  1. Toya says:

    I totally understand where you are coming from with this post and have been there myself many times. It doesn’t matter how much we improve in our photography, we will always see someone who is doing it better. It can be somewhat depressing but I now choose to put a different spin on it. If every image was ‘that’ good, think how boring the blog would be. ” Oh it’s another one…” Right now, doing what you do, the good ones jump out and say “Look at me, I am a stunning shot!” and they are recognised for what they are!

Leave a Reply

