September 15, 2013 … a taste of seasons to come?

Suddenly it was summer.

Well, not officially, but it sure felt that way. No wind, bright sun, instant well-being, so how could it not be summer.  Where else would I go. Out on the inlet, I found a fellow enthusiast, and a genuinely superb photographer. I envy his equipment, but that is not why he is a better photographer. He is more patient, willing to work harder to get the right moment. Anyway, there we were enjoying the warmth, and the stillness of the inlet.

Sunny afternoon at the inlet

As well as the two kingfishers, there are a pair of spur-winged plovers in the beach in the background.

Kingfishers were around, though maintaining a wary distance. I prefer to get an individual bird filling as much of my frame as possible, but sometimes a scene-setting image is useful.   These birds were perhaps a hundred metres away, so with the ISO pushed up for high-speed close quarter capture,  it was never going to be a super sharp image.

Kingfisher emergent

I should probably have a moratorium on these, but I find them hard to resist

Eventually a few birds overcame their caution and began diving from the trees near us. More practice is still required but I am getting closer.  This bird emerged from its dive and then flew arrow straight to a distant perch to consume the crab in its beak.

Master of high speed low level flight

Taking the meal to the dining room

Domestic time constraints meant that I could not stay long, and I started on the homeward journey. Near Judgeford, a flock of rim-lit sheep were enjoying the afternoon sun with their lambs.

Pastoral scene

Gilt-edged investment? But is that left black shape in the background a rabbit?

The lambs seemed to enjoy life too.

Springtime frolics

Who said I was a problem gamboller?

It was a day to rejoice in.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Animals, Birds, Pauatahanui, Seasons, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to September 15, 2013 … a taste of seasons to come?

  1. Toya says:

    Great shots… now you have the kingfishers calling me again. I haven’t been out there in a couple of months!

  2. Never get sick of your kingfisher shots

  3. Ellen says:

    Well, I like the lamb, mid-frolic, on his tippy-toes.

  4. Lydia says:

    Your rabbit is a bird, don’t you think????

    • Possibly Lydia, I blew it up as much as possible and was still unsure. It looked like ears to me, and we have no birds with ears, hence my guess. It may be that what I took to be ears are some other object in the background

Leave a Reply

