September 11, 2013 … making the most of the bad weather

Weather can be an obstacle to photography.

Or it could become the subject of photography. So what happened yesterday?  A severe weather front came in and the morning went from bleak to ugly in very short order.

A friend phoned to tell me that there were some interesting clouds in the West. From home, at ground level, there are a lot of obstacles to getting good sky shots, so I went to the top of the Wainuiomata Hill road and looked West.  I think the clouds that excited him had moved on, but they were still worth a look.

Across the Petone foreshore from Wainuiomata Hill

Incoming!

With the wind from the North West and gusts up to 130 km/h I decided that I needed to be at the South Side of the harbour and went to Evans Bay.

Looking South into Evans bay from Pt Jerningham

At least the wind was at my back for this shot

My car door was almost ripped from my hand as I got out.  I had real difficulty in standing as the wind howled. The harbour is too short to build up real waves but  the wind was so strong it was ripping the tops off the short chop and flinging them viciously downwind.

Towards Petone from Pt Jerningham

The spiteful sea spray meant I didn’t see the Spirit of New Zealand until I got home

At some risk to the cleanliness of my camera, I faced into the wind and could see the squalls hurling themselves towards me. I could not remain exposed for long and it was not till I got back to the computer later that I saw the sail training ship, “Spirit of New Zealand” anchored at the Northern end of the harbour. I bet it was a noisy night for them with a very close watch kept on the anchor.

Pt Halswell Light

A good coat of pain is in order

Around at Point Halswell, on the Northern end of the Miramar Peninsula, I was a bit disappointed. Despite its seemingly more exposed position the wind and the waves were not as fierce as the were over on Evans Bay.

The wind seems to be abating as I write.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, harbour, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to September 11, 2013 … making the most of the bad weather

  1. Ellen says:

    Impressive skyscape. Those winds didn’t feel good when walking from station to johnston street yesterday.

  2. Lawrence Herzog says:

    These images cry out for HDR. I wonder how that sky would look.

Leave a Reply

