September 7, 2013 … take the chance while you can

It happened again.

The day started earlier than it did the day before

… and it promised so much

Just like the previous day, the weather came to my window. You can see that it started magnificently, though it went downhill quite quickly from there. Nevertheless,  I did my best to seize the day.

Stilts among the reeds

When the conditions are right this place can be spectacular

No wind, bright sun, where else would you expect to find me? I love the combination of green and gold in the reeds and the snappy black and white dress uniform of the pied stilts browsing in the pond.

An enormous stilness across the inlet

A sticky subject

Round at Motukaraka point, things were quiet so I pointed at the reflections.

Never take your eye off the target. While I was mucking about with reflections a splash and a flash at the corner of my eye signified kingfisher activity. I was ready for the next dive … or more accurately I missed the next dive completely, but caught one as it emerged from the water.

Emergence

Back to the perch to eat the crab

Things are improving.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Landscapes, Light, Lower Hutt, Pauatahanui, Reflections, sunrise, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

