September 6, 2013 … getting the best from a bad day

It’s very nice when the scenery comes looking for you.

When I drew my curtains to face the day yesterday, a river mist was creating interesting effects in the valley towards Avalon. The angle of those rays may give away the fact that I was late rising yesterday, but I feel no need to apologise for that.  The weather turned surly for the rest of the day, and the wind got up and there was intermittent rain. I felt very sorry for the two young men who were working out in the elements on my neighbour’s major landscape reconstruction.

Looking to the North from my bedroom window

I like those trees on the golf course

Later in the day, I took myself out to Eastbourne.  The wind was still biting, but there were patches of sunlight. I parked near Burdan’s Gate which is the entrance to the road out to Pencarrow. It was too late in the day and the conditions too unpleasant for any great walk, but I set out along that track. In the first part of the road I liked the way the incoming waves were framed by the trees on the edge of the beach.

Across the harbour entrance from Burdan's Gate

That’s Seatoun in the background

I didn’t go far, and chose to drive home via the Petone Esplanade. The towers of the city gleamed in the distance, and I thought I could see a ferry approaching the terminal through the haze. Not till I got home did I discover that the navy was in town. The ship in the distance above that spiteful chop on the water turns out to be the offshore patrol vessel, HMNZS Wellington. She is a very lightly armed vessel that seems frankly to be more about enforcement of fishing regulations than about naval combat. Perhaps the world would be a safer place if more of our navies were so focused.

HMNZS Wellington comes to her name port

That sea looks really cold

Just before I turned off the Esplanade, I saw and liked the layers in the Western hills, delineated by the setting sun.

The Western Hills from Petone looking towards Newlands

You may have noticed that I like those receding layers

That will do for today.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Eastbourne, harbour, Landscapes, Light, Petone. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September 6, 2013 … getting the best from a bad day

  1. Melody says:

    I also like those receding layers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

