September 3, 2013 … a rugged coastline

Battling technical issues is not conducive to good writing or photography.

I did something weird which caused me to lose all my e-mail contacts and my archive of messages. Still working on it, so today’s post will be brief.

Pukerua Bay is a place most Wellingtonians pass though on their way into or out of the city and they never really see it. The road down to Pukerua Bay beach is steep and narrow but the visit is worth the effort. As well as splendid views across the water to Kapiti island and the Marlborough sounds, there is a high likelihood of seeing interesting seabirds.

Large rock with passage - Pukerua Bay

If the floor were not so rough, you could drive a small truck through that opening

As it happens the  seabirds were fairly ordinary  on this occasion, so my pictures relate to things observed on the walkway around the coast.  First this interesting rock with the passage through it. I like the horse that I can see in it.

Interesting structure of uncertain origin

Many a pirate ship must have been spotted from here.

A bit further on, this splendid structure of driftwood and rope catches the eye. Who built it, and why? I imagine a scout group, but perhaps just some imaginative local kids are behind the construction.

Wind-blasted trees - Pukerua Bay

The hill is directly exposed to the prevailing Nor’Wester

As the path progresses to the West, the hillside gets steeper and the vegetation on the exposed face looks ever more rugged and interesting.

Waiwhetu Stream (with duck)

Slow exposure

At the end of the day, back in the Hutt Valley, I was over on the Eastern side, and experimented a little more with that Neutral Density filter to see what I could do with some of the quieter parts of the Waiwhetu Stream

That’s it, now to try to fix my problems.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, Kapiti Island, Landscapes, Pukerua Bay. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to September 3, 2013 … a rugged coastline

  1. Ellen says:

    That is an interesting angle of the rock, and nicely lit. It looks like some great animal busting out of the hill. The story is here:
    Where am I – Top.net.nz
    http://www.top.net.nz/~hugh/Vanity/Personal/Where.html
    My house, “Haunui-a-Nanaia”, is set back from the cliff overlooking the beach. … He made another opening west of Pukerua at Te Ana Puta (Marble Arch)

  2. Lydia says:

    Lovely story, Ellen, but I still think Brian’s horse looks more like a bear!!! But, living in Canada, maybe that’s why…

Leave a Reply

